Brazil Disgrace World Champion Spain in Confed’Cup Final

The Samba boys thrashed the World Cup and Euro champions 3-0 in a largely one-sided contest on Sunday night.

To the cheer of fans in a packed stadium at Rio de Janeiro, the Brazilian and Spanish national teams took the pitch to play the Confederations Cup final.

The World Champions-Spain were looking to complete a hat-trick of wins after their World Cup and Euro success by adding the Confederations Cup to their titles.

Both teams were unbeaten in the run up to the final but Brazil looked the stronger team with the way they managed to win their matches. Spain eked their way to the final after a penalty shoot-out semi-final against Italy. While Brazil comfortably edged out Uruguay in their semi-final encounter.

The best generation of football stars who made the Spanish team reach new heights were looking for momentum as they took on a young Brazil team at home. Interestingly, Brazil have won the World Cup five times but recently have been lacking the Samba-style of play that Pele, Romario and Ronaldo brought to the beautiful game.

Spain on the other hand have been able to win 29 straight games at the international level a record that stretched back to 2010. It took to the combined brilliance of Neymar, Oscar and Fred to help the Confederations Cup and World Cup 2014 hosts to overpower Iker Casillas and his men.

The result was 3-0 routing at the end of 90 minutes that signalled the end of the Spanish dominance of world football. Many football observers point to the fact that Spain had less rest days as compared to Brazil and so looked slightly tired and not at the top of their game in the final.

Whatever the reason but Vicente Del Bosque and his team will have to return to the planning and strategy room as they have to recoup and plan a way to stop Luiz Felipe Scolari’s Brazilian team who have their tails up after a morale boosting win against the best team in the football world.
Brazil boosted their curriculum vitae by adding one more confederation cup to total four,three of which was won in a row,1997,2005,2009 and 2013.
Spain is yet to win a confederation cup title.

By Nfor Hanson Nchanji


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s